The Wheelwright Prize is a travelling fellowship that awards talented architects with exceptional proposals. The three finalists of the prize have been chosen by Harvard Graduate School of Design (Harvard GSD). The selection of the final winner will be in late April.

The Prize is established by Harvard GSD in memory of Arthur W. Wheelwright, class of 1887. The prize is now in its eight cycles and it supports innovative design research.

The Wheelwright Prize comes with a grant of $100,000 that goes to supports two years worth of study of the finalist. The 2020 Wheelwright Prize saw applications from over 45 countries with 168 applicants.

The finalists and their proposals

Photo Courtesy: Harvard GSD

Daniel Fernández Pascual has a Master of Architecture from ETSA Madrid, a Master of Science in Urban Design from Tongji University Shanghai and TU Berlin. Pascual’s proposal is “Being Shellfish: The Architecture of Intertidal Cohabitation.”

Bryony Roberts has a Bachelor of Arts at Yale University and her Master of Architecture at the Princeton School of Architecture. Robert’ proposal is “The Architecture of Childcare: A Global Study of Experimental Models.”

Gustavo Utrabo holds a degree in architecture and urbanism from the Federal University of Paraná in Curitiba, Brazil. He completed a specialization course in National History and Literature from UTFPR. Utrabo’s proposal is “Rethinking Nature, Assembling Matter.”

The jury

The jury of 2020 Wheelwright Prize includes Sarah M. Whiting, Harvard GSD’s Dean and Josep Lluís Sert Professor of Architecture; Mark Lee, Harvard GSD’s Chair of the Department of Architecture; Megan Panzano, Harvard GSD Assistant Professor of Architecture from the faculty of Harvard GSD.

Anna Puigjaner, the 2016 Wheelwright Prize Winner; Co-Founder of 6a Architects, Tom Emerson; Belgian architect, Wonne Ickx are also jury members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here